Limbo

Staying with friends as I’m between homes for the next few days, house is rented and Near & Farr isn’t ready. Most of my stuff got sorted and is currently either in storage or in the back of my car.
The move from the house was delayed a week, the tenant had to give notice at her last property, but that suited me rather well. It meant a week more to not get everything done… Note to self – take some days off when trying to pack and move house, working every day is not clever. I would have liked to have left the garden tidier but in the end it is what it is.

Near & Farr is still out of the water, the guys have found a few more things on the hull that need attention, nothing major but a few spots being filled and epoxy needs to cure. Hopefully she will be back in on Monday and I can finally move on board and the electrical work can be started.
The new switch boards have arrived and look good, 12v and 240v with a couple of power points, going in to the cupboard above the chart table. Hopefully the install won’t take too long. The fridge guys have quoted installing an isotherm plate and compressor so that I can run the freezer off shore power, but they are not sure when they will be able to do it, maybe not before Xmas. I’ll decide what to do once I’m there.
The big news it that Ché is sold! Not without dramas unfortunately. The buyer is a younger guy and she is his first yacht… He had a survey done and had agreed to buy her, I was stupid and told him that as long as he transferred money that night he could start antifouling, what I didn’t expect was for him to “grind out” a bit of damaged timber on the skeg collar, and then call me to tell me that the survey was no good… I thought he was going to walk and am still unhappy about his behavior. Long story short so that I could keep the sale I agreed to drop the price by $500, effectively to help pay for the repair. Possibly stupid as he was getting her cheaply anyway but the hassle of having to find another buyer and the expense of keeping her – I would have had to do the repair before I could have done anything else made it seem like the best option.
She was a great little boat for me to learn with, now I’m back to the bottom of the learning curve again and that’s exciting.
The changes that are about to happen are huge, as I’ve said more than once when I stop being so tired I’ll be really excited.

Leave a comment